BEING CHARGED WITH 1st or 2nd DEGREE KIDNAPPING IN OREGON
Serving All of Oregon – Portland – Beaverton – Gresham
Being charged with 1st or 2nd degree kidnapping in Oregon is no laughing matter and requires immediate attention from an experienced lawyer. Individuals convicted of this Measure 11 offense will serve a minimum of 7 years 6 months, and 5 years 10 months respectively. Crimes that fall under Oregon’s Measure 11 Statute do not receive reduced sentences for good behavior, and if convicted they are not eligible for reduced sentences.
REQUEST A FREE CRIMINAL DEFENSE CONSULTATION
Attorney Robert L. Sepp offers Free Criminal Defense Consultations for Select Cases. To qualify for a Free Legal Consultation, you must fill out the details of your case below which will be reviewed by Mr. Sepp to see if you qualify.
WHY DO YOU NEED AN EXPERIENCED ATTORNEY IF CHARGED WITH 1st or 2nd DEGREE KIDNAPPING?
If you have been arrested and charged with 1st or 2nd degree kidnapping in Oregon, you are facing serious criminal charges and along with it a considerable amount of jail time if you are convicted. No matter what your circumstances are surrounding your charges, you are in need of someone on your side, who knows how work with the criminal justice system.
There are many components that go into successfully defending a charge of felony kidnapping under Measure 11 in Oregon. Having an experienced criminal defense attorney on your side can mean the difference between a long prison term, and freedom. Attorney Robert L. Sepp has a special understanding of the legal rights of victims and the successful defense of those accused. He works diligently to protect the rights and integrity of his clients.
For any accused defendant who decides to take a plea offer, it takes an experienced criminal defense attorney to find imaginative ways to get the district attorney to agree to a sentence outside of Measure 11 so that the defendant is eligible to receive good time credits and sentence reduction programs.
MEASURE 11 FIRST DEGREE KIDNAPPING CHARGE IN OREGON
(1) A person commits the crime of kidnapping in the first degree if the person violates ORS 163.225 (Kidnapping in the second degree) with any of the following purposes:
(a) To compel any person to pay or deliver money or property as ransom;
(b) To hold the victim as a shield or hostage;
(c) To cause physical injury to the victim;
(d) To terrorize the victim or another person; or
(e) To further the commission or attempted commission of any of the following crimes against the victim:
(A) Rape in the first degree, as defined in ORS 163.375 (Rape in the first degree) (1)(b);
(B) Sodomy in the first degree, as defined in ORS 163.405 (Sodomy in the first degree) (1)(b); or
(C) Unlawful sexual penetration in the first degree, as defined in ORS 163.411 (Unlawful sexual penetration in the first degree) (1)(b).
(2) Kidnapping in the first degree is a Class A felony. [1971 c.743 §99; 2005 c.22 §112; 2009 c.660 §43]
MEASURE 11 SECOND DEGREE KIDNAPPING CHARGE IN OREGON
(1) A person commits the crime of kidnapping in the second degree if, with intent to interfere substantially with another’s personal liberty, and without consent or legal authority, the person:
(a) Takes the person from one place to another; or
(b) Secretly confines the person in a place where the person is not likely to be found.
(2) It is a defense to a prosecution under subsection (1) of this section if:
(a) The person taken or confined is under 16 years of age;
(b) The defendant is a relative of that person; and
(c) The sole purpose of the person is to assume control of that person.
(3) Kidnapping in the second degree is a Class B felony. [1971 c.743 §98; 2005 c.22 §111]
Kidnapping Defense Attorney in Portland OR
SERVING CLIENTS IN THE PORTLAND OR AND SURROUNDING AREAS: