Measure 11 in Oregon
Criminal Defense Attorney
Serving All of Oregon – Portland – Beaverton – Gresham
Passed in 1994, the initiative known as Measure 11 in Oregon requires mandatory minimum sentences for several crimes. Measure 11 crimes are serious felonies and carry sentences that range from a low end of 5 years 10 months, up to 25 years. These charges cannot be downgraded, and parole is not available. Good behavior sentence reductions are also unavailable with Measure 11 crimes. If multiple felonies are charged, life in prison is more than possible.
Measure 11 includes special sentencing for juveniles. Any person aged 15-17 who is found guilty of a Measure 11 crime will be charged as an adult, with the same sentencing listed above. This has broad and very serious implications for youths.
Robert L Sepp is a leading juvenile defense attorney, especially concerning Measure 11 criminal defense. If you’re an adult or a juvenile that has been charged with a crime that falls under Measure 11, please call us today so we can begin working on your defense.
Speak with a Measure 11 Defense Attorney Today!
Click the button below to leave your information and we’ll call you back to discuss your case.
Measure 11 Sentencing
It cannot be emphasized enough, but Measure 11 sentences are non-negotiable. They are mandatory, and a person convicted of a Measure 11 crime will serve all of the sentences with no early release or sentence reduction for good behavior. Being charged with a crime that falls under Measure 11 can be overwhelming and confusing, which is why it’s important to find a criminal defense attorney who’s familiar with measure 11 in Oregon.
Juvenile Defense Attorney for Measure 11 Crimes
Anyone over the age of 15 who is accused of a Measure 11 crime will be tried as an adult and face the same penalties. This can be extremely difficult to deal with, and a good defense needs experience to succeed. Robert L. Sepp is well-versed in defending both juveniles and adults in Measure 11 crimes, and he is more than prepared for the complexities of these cases.
Measure 11 Bail Reduction
Just being arrested and charged with a Measure 11 crime will have a very serious negative impact on a person’s life. In Oregon, people charged with a Measure 11 offense will have a difficult time being released before trial. Bail is usually set at $250,000 or more. This high bail applies to first-time offenders as well as anyone that is 15 years old or older. There are provisions within the law that allow reducing the amount bail is set at, as your lawyer Robert L. Sepp will work diligently, on your behalf, to get a bail reduction allowing for pre-trial release.
Measure 11 Escape Clause
If you or someone you know is facing a Measure 11 criminal charge in Oregon it is vitally important that you have legal representation that is experienced with Measure 11 defense. There are escape clauses within Measure 11 in Oregon guidelines that will allow a judge to make some exceptions. Robert L. Sepp Attorney at Law is an aggressive Criminal Defense Attorney that is extremely knowledgeable in all aspects of Measure 11 cases and Measure 11 escape clauses.
Defending Measure 11 Cases
Robert L. Sepp Attorney at Law will fight for your rights from the very beginning and throughout the serious and confusing Measure 11 process. Robert Sepp will guide you through to your best possible outcome, including pre-charge representation, reducing charges from Measure 11 status, bail reduction hearings, trial, and sentencing.
Measure 11 Crimes
|1st Degree Manslaughter||10 years|
|2nd Degree Manslaughter||6 years, 3 months|
|1st Degree Assault||7 years, 6 months|
|2nd Degree Assault||5 years, 10 months|
|1st Degree Kidnapping||7 years, 6 months|
|2nd Degree Kidnapping||5 years, 10 months|
|1st Degree Rape||8 years, 4 months|
|2nd Degree Rape||6 years, 3 months|
|1st Degree Sodomy||8 years, 4 months|
|2nd Degree Sodomy||6 years, 3 months|
|1st Degree Unlawful Sexual Penetration||8 years, 4 months|
|2nd Degree Unlawful Sexual Penetration||6 years, 3 months|
|1st Degree Sexual Abuse||6 years, 3 months|
|1st Degree Robbery||7 years, 6 months|
|2nd Degree Robbery||5 years, 10 months|
Measure 11 Defense Attorney in Portland OR and West Linn OR
SERVING CLIENTS IN THE PORTLAND OR AND SURROUNDING AREAS: